Dear Busy People … Here’s How to Do Breakfast Right

{By Taylor Cartee}

“Busyness” isn’t an excuse to skip breakfast… or your workout.

Busyness is practically a buzzword in Christian circles, a means by which we try to one-up each other. Ironically, it’s also the Christian excuse of choice. We’re “too busy” to do devotions, eat healthy, workout, or be a friend to the new girl at church. Maybe it’s easy to see it as that when it involves others (of course I shouldn’t be too busy to welcome visitors or spend time in God’s word!) but it can be harder to admit I’m at fault when my busyness only affects myself.

I fell into this trap last year. I was working 60 hours a week and planning my wedding, all while my fiancé was 1,200 miles away, and I used that as an excuse to indulge in fast food, waste time in the gym, or skip it altogether. I’ve worked hard to reform my ways, because I believe that Christians have an obligation to live a healthy lifestyle.  Over my next few posts, I’ll share a few tips and tricks that help me maintain a healthy lifestyle regardless of how busy I am. The perfect starting point? Breakfast.

The key to eating healthy on the run is all in the preparation. I find it easiest to store food in portion-size containers, but another option is to store food by the batch and pack what you’ll need the night before.

I find it’s much easier to get out of bed if I know I have a yummy, pre-made breakfast in the fridge. A hearty breakfast also kick-starts your metabolism and staves off mid-morning snacking. I’ve found that I’m happiest (and least likely to gain weight!) when I consistently eat breakfasts with a balance of carbs, protein, and healthy fats.

healthy fast breakfast for busy people 

1. Eggs are filling and super versatile! Sometimes I’ll scramble a bunch and mix in tomato, bell pepper, spinach, or baby kale. To mix it up, I’ll make them with black beans and salsa, or make mini omelets in a small fying pan. If I have extra time on the weekend, I’ll make this frittata recipe and refrigerate it in an airtight container for us to enjoy for several mornings in a row. And, because I firmly believe in the 80/20 rule of healthy eating, I always sprinkle a little extra sharp cheddar cheese on top. If you need to eat on your way to work, wrap them up in a 100% whole-wheat, preservative-free tortilla. (Just make sure you skip the hot sauce, or anything else that might get drippy!)

2. Sweet potatoes have a practically perfect blend of simple and complex carbs. I find that half of one is usually a good serving size. For breakfast, I’ll make them “baked” in the microwave, and eat with cinnamon and raisins. For a change of pace, you can scoop them out of the skins and mash them. You can also mix in nuts, dried fruit (without extra sugar, of course!), or spices such as cloves, nutmeg, or ginger.

healthy sausage breakfast

3. Sausage is my go-to protein source, but this recommendation comes with a qualification. Sausage is a high-fat, high-calorie food that is often full of preservatives and other nasty ingredients. I include it in my diet because I have a very active job and I exercise a lot. I find that the fat keeps me full longer and helps me avoid snacking between breakfast and lunch. I buy natural, preservative-free sausage from Costco, either the traditional pork patties (in a big bag, frozen), or chicken sausage links. If you include sausage as part of your breakfast, you’ll want to make sure that your other meals and snacks are low in fat content. If you’re trying to lose weight, I’d skip it altogether.

4. Fruit dresses up everything from oatmeal to greek yogurt, or it can be eaten plain. I usually stick with frozen berries because they go well in oatmeal, but my husband loves fresh fruit, so I’ve been branching out. To save time, you can pre-wash berries (and dry!) berries, pre-slice oranges, peaches, etc.

5. Plain Greek Yogurt is a great source of protein, and you can sweeten it with fresh fruit or a small dash of honey/maple syrup. I love flavored greek yogurt, but the sugar content is usually pretty high, so I try to stick with the plain stuff and dress it up with fruit and oatmeal.

fast healthy breakfast

6. Oatmeal- The possibilities here are endless. You can wake up to a warm crock pot full of oatmeal, mix dry oatmeal into greek yogurt, make it in advance on the stove or in the microwave… consult Pinterest to find recipes for everything from pumpkin spice oatmeal to chocolate peanut oatmeal, but just keep in mind the refined sugar content of whatever recipe you choose. My favorites are blueberries, almond milk, cinnamon, and chopped almonds, or peach and unsweetened coconut.

7. Chicken. Yep, you read that right. I would never have thought of eating chicken for breakfast, but my sweet hubby loves nothing more than chicken grilled with fresh lemon juice, and a side of fresh fruit. It’s very easy to make in advance, and is good with some homemade whole-wheat biscuits.

Finally, I have what I call my emergency breakfast. At least once a week, I roll out of bed 15 minutes before I leave for work and realize that I’m out of easy-to-eat, pre-made breakfasts! My go-to takes about 45 seconds to prepare: I grab two Ziploc sandwhich bags, and fill one with ½ cup of oatmeal, a dash of cinnamon, and a handful of frozen blueberries. The other bag will hold a frozen sausage patty (see above).

 

What are your favorite healthy breakfast recipes?

 

