Pumpkin Bread Paleo Style

{By Abby Hogle}

It seems to me that everything associated with the crisp weather that fall brings is warm.

Warm flannel shirts, cozy scarfs, steaming tea, and fresh out of the oven treats. One of my very favorite fall snacks is pumpkin bread. I have been eating Paleo for about 18 months now and I have decided that I will not go another fall without pumpkin bread.

Screen Shot 2013-10-14 at 9.18.07 PM

Paleo is not a diet; instead, it’s a very “clean-eats” lifestyle. While eating Paleo, one must avoid all grains, dairy, legumes, and refined sugars. Some people are extremely strict about it, and then there are the people like me who do their best, but sometimes, a piece of chocolate just sounds better than a handful of celery. Okay, back to pumpkin bread, by substituting a few different ingredients, I have re-created pumpkin bread that is not only a freebie for the Paleo people, but also it is overall healthier! Not to worry, the taste and texture are quite similar. I have not tried to bake anything from scratch since I started eating more clean, 18 months of no baking, I know. As I said previously, pumpkin bread is a must for my fall “To- Enjoy” list. The recipe is very simple, but you may have to run to the market to pick up a few things, trust me, it’s worth it.

I was a bit skeptical when I began to create this bread. I mean, using almond meal instead of flour, would it really work? I pushed through my skepticism and kept mixing. I popped the pan filled with bread batter (it was a bit too runny to be called dough) in the oven and began to wait with anticipation. About 30 minutes later, I pulled the loaf of steaming pumpkin bread out of the oven and got excited because it actually looked like bread! The loaf didn’t rise too much but the bread was moist and delicious. It tasted so amazing, its not exactly like regular pumpkin bread, however, it is a close second; and if you are a healthy eater, paleo person, or you have gluten allergies, this bread deserves a blue ribbon, or gold medal, or some form of “Healthy, but Delicious Award!” I have sat down multiple times this week and enjoyed a hot cup of coffee or tea while enjoying this fall treat! I always become giddy when I find a healthy, and tasty treat, they are hard to come by, so that makes them like little treasures.

Ingredients

~ 1 1/2 cups of almond flour

~  3/4 cup of canned pumpkin ( not pie filling )

~ 3 eggs, whisked

~ 1/4 cup raw honey

~ 1 tsp baking powder

~ 1 tsp baking soda

~ 1 tbs cinnamon

~ 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice

~ 1 tsp of vanilla

~ 3 tbs of coconut oil, melted

Optional: 1/2 cup of semisweet dark chocolate mini-chips (I use the Enjoy Life brand). You can also add nuts as a substitute, or this bread is awesome without anything!

Instructions

1. First combine all the dry ingredients together in a medium-sized bowl

2. Next, in a small bowl, mix all the wet ingredients together **note: when mixing the wet ingredients together, I would recommend adding the coconut oil LAST. Because it hardens at about 76º adding it last will prevent little hardened clumps of coconut oil.**

3. Now pour the wet ingredients into the larger dry ingredients bowl and stir until combined

4. Fold in chocolate chips or nuts (OPTIONAL)

5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

6. Grease a bread pan of your choice (I made mine in an 8″ pan) and pour in the mix

7. Bake at 350-degrees F for 35 to 45 minutes. Check doneness by inserting a toothpick…if it comes out clean, the bread’s done

8. Cool, slice, serve and enjoy!

Abby Hogle

 

Abby Hogle is a graphic design major at Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology. She is a Tulsa native and comes from a family of eight. Her biggest joys in life are: pursuing Jesus on a daily basis, going to school, and spending time with her family. She also enjoys crafting, reading, hiking, and taking pictures!

