Super Healthy Spiced Orange Granola

{By Ellery Sadler}

I often find it hard to eat healthy in between meals.

I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty ok with having a salad for lunch and something healthy for dinner. But it’s at about three o’clock and nine o’clock that I want something else. So I decided to try to find some healthy snacking recipes. Only problem is, there aren’t very many. So I decided to make my own to satisfy my sweet cravings I came up with this healthy and delicious granola. It is perfect for snacking on and wonderfully satisfying. Try it on top of Greek yogurt for a healthy breakfast.

Spiced Orange Granolasuper healthy orange granola

Serves 4-6

  • 1 cup oats
  • ½ cup pecans (I like to use raw nuts in my recipes )
  • ¼ cup sliced almonds
  • ½ cup golden raisins
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • ½  tsp of orange zest (finely grated)
  • A pinch of nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon.

Put the oats and pecan in a saucepan on the stove, and lightly toast, about 5 min. Pour into a bowl with almonds, honey, vanilla, golden raisins and stir until slightly sticky. Add orange zest and spices and mix well.

Depending on how much you like orange flavor, you can add more or less to taste. Personally, I prefer it to just be an orange undertone in the granola, but you can make it more of a statement flavor by adding more.  To make it extra healthy and filling, add flaxseeds and/or chia seeds.

Bone appetite!

IMG_2936

