12 Reasons I Defy the Cold

{By Samantha Roose}

reasons to run in the winterAs the cold weather has slowly (and rather undecidedly) crept upon us bringing with it fevers and sneezes and a need for extra sleep, socks and sweaters, I’ve been asking myself:

When it’s cold outside and warm inside what motivates me to go out in the cold and exercise?

Instead of 12 days of Christmas I decided to the 12 reasons I dare to exercise despite wintery weather:

 

1) Wanting to look great!  I’m a girl, so this one had to come out sooner or later.

2) A desire to be alone with my thoughts and my God.

3) A reason to get in the shower.  Generally, this is only a little girl problem, but I really don’t like taking showers unless there is reason – a sweaty self or greasy hair.

4) New exercising apparel: shoes, socks, gloves, hats, shirts, pants, shorts, sorts, jackets…you name it, I just have to try out my new gear out!

5) Feeling great!  I love the release of endorphins, energetic fatigue, and knowledge that I just worked out (it’s even better if I feel sore the next morning)!

6) Spending time with my sister one-on-one!  My sister and I LOVE running together; most of the time we don’t even talk.  Instead, we look forward to being together and having the opportunity to talk about whatever we want if we want, or just being quiet.

7) A need for quiet.

8) The opportunity to see, marvel, and praise the handiwork of God as well as remind myself that I am the climax of such a creative masterpiece (Genesis 1-2)!

9) Teaching myself to endure, press through when it’s hard, the feeling of conquering, and the reminder that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13)!

10) Being able to eat more.  I’ll be honest and admit it – I LOVE food!

11) The knowledge that I’m signed up for a race and whether I like it or not every day that passes is a day I can be more prepared for that competition.  Let’s face it: races are expensive.  If you paid $50-$110 for a race you’re more likely to make sure you are prepared when that day arrives.

12) Finally, my passion to be prepared and equipped physically as well as mentally to do whatever it is God has for me today and in the future.  If there is an excuse I don’t want it to be that I’m not strong enough, don’t have endurance, or feel lethargic.  I have been called to run the race with perseverance with the promise that I have been given everything I need by His divine power (Hebrews 12:1 & 2 Peter 1:3).  I will run!

What motivates you to get out, put on your exercising garb and dare to defy the cold?

