Diary of a Newbie Runner: Thanksgiving Hangover

{By Ellery Sadler}

Many people don’t know this, but there are lots of ways to get a hangover besides drinking too much.

Such as eating too much and staying up too late. These two afflict me during this time of year. That is why the morning after sleepovers, I feel like a train hit me. And the few hours following the Thanksgiving meal consist of laying on the sofa moaning, wondering why the Pilgrims had to cross the ocean at all, who invented mashed potatoes, and what fool decided it would be a good idea to mix apples and cinnamon and sugar and cover it in ice cream and then eat it.

Needless to say, Thanksgiving never makes me feel like I want to run. It is just not a good time for running.  Now for some of the athletes in my family (and there are quite a few, including my uncle who is an Ironman!) the day after Thanksgiving gets them motivated. Their thought process is something like this, ‘Wow, I just ate a lot of food yesterday, so now my run needs to probably include some hills and speed work and some extra 6 mile loops around the road and isn’t this gonna feel great? I mean there is just nothing like running!’

Agreed. There is nothing quite like running. But my thought process is more ‘Wow, I just ate a lot of food yesterday, and pie for breakfast, so I probably ought to take the day off …. maybe the week off …. to recover you know.’ My family looks at me in shock. ‘Are you kidding?’ I can see the question lurking somewhere in the depths of their athletic eyes, just waiting to be asked. No, I’m not kidding. I really don’t feel like running. Well, to be honest, I pretty much never feel like running, except when I’m stressed out. But I am generally not stressed out … which explains why I do so much P90X and not running.

But with an uncle who is an Ironman and an extended family and immediate family of swimmers, triathletes, and runners, I have decided to break away from my traditional shirking of running after Thanksgiving and conquer the Thanksgiving hangover.

So how do you beat a Thanksgiving hangover? What do you do when you don’t feel like running? How to get over this exercise crisis? Simple: Run.

Yep, that is my answer. You thought this was going to be some complicated novel idea?  Nope. It’s not. It’s quite simple really. Make a decision and force yourself to some hardcore self-disciplined exercise.

So stop reading a blog about running and actually get out there and do it. You will not regret it. I promise. (You may feel like you are dying in the process, but guess what? In life, after death comes Heaven. In running after the run comes more apple pie :) Who doesn’t like running now??! Oh yeah … still me.

But hey, if my uncle is an Ironman, then I can run. Thank you for inspiring me, Uncle Fletcher!

