Meet Taylor: New Health/Sports Columnist

{By Taylor Eckel}

Now, exercise and fresh air. Great cures for anything they say.”

“Taylor, that’s so you!” exclaimed my good friend and running buddy when Mrs. Fairfax gave Jane that advice. We were watching Jane Eyre with the freshmen of our dorm, and I had to laugh at my reputation.

I am very excited to be a part of the InsideOut team, and the area of health and sports is one of my greatest passions. Before we dive into actual discussions, I thought I’d give y’all a little intro to the vision I have for my posts, and a little bit about my experience in health/sports.

I love sports, but my focus has always been on soccer and basketball. In the past 4 years, I’ve also taken up running. I have worked in two different physical therapy clinics, and Lord-willing I’ll be entering a Doctor of Physical Therapy program this upcoming Fall. My family is very health-oriented, as my dad is a dentist and my mom a nurse-turned-homeschool-mom.

One of the things I love about InsideOut it really encourages interaction, so I’d love to hear from you if there is anything particular you’d like to see in this section. I’m hoping to talk about everything from the treatment and prevention of common running injuries to keeping competition Christ-centered, to ways Christians can think about exercise and healthy eating.

Last Spring semester I was blessed to take an upper-level history course about the History of Sports that focused on the ways people have thought about sports in ages past, and used that knowledge to develop a distinctly Christian way of viewing sports. The professor pointed out that it’s not uncommon for us to “think Christianly” about music, science, film, etc., but we never take the time to evaluate our participation in sports and exercise against God’s word. These topics really excite me, because they can be really enriched by your comments!

Until next time,

T

